Before I start recounting my adventures at the Guinness Factory yesterday, I would just like to tell everyone that as I write this blog post, I am wearing a Batman onesie. So now that everyone has that mental image, I shall recount the rest of my weekend.
Yesterday, after sleeping in, Paul and I met up with Kari, Brianne, and Kari's friend Kinaree at the Guinness Factory. When we got there, we still had to wait for Brianne, though. So we went to a pub and drank a Guinness at 3:00PM. Like champs. Once, we did meet up with Bri, we made our way down an alley towards an entrance to the museum.
Next you go up a flight of stairs to see the machinery and learn about the way that they brew the beer. There are videos alongside really old machines, with a sign saying that the machines were from a different time, when machines were works of art. Afterwards, you walk up another flight of stairs and receive a free quarter pint of Guinness. Then, you get out into the more open area, with natural sunlight.
Then, you work your way up through the levels via a series of snaking escalators with each floor having a different thing. My favorite and the place that I spent the most time at was the Guinness advertisements. They have a bunch of Guinness memorabilia and a computer screen with head phones where you can watch every Guinness ad ever. I think this one was my favorite.
After we drank our free pint of Guinness, which took a really long time because of all the Guinness we had drank yesterday, we made our way downstairs to the gift shop and then finally left. The entire thing had taken 3 or so hours, but it was totally worth it. Definitely a must see if you are in Dublin, but I am sure that you already knew that.
By the time we got back to the apartment last night, we were about ready to pass out. So we took a nap, and just as it seemed like we were going to stay in, we decided to get up and at 'em and go out. Or at least, Kari, Kinaree, and I did. Paul decided to stay in. So we took one of the last buses in and made our way over to Wexford St to the Village. On our way, we took a detour to Dandelion for what we thought would be cheap drinks. Jokes, they double their prices on Saturday night. That was a fun little surprise. We finally got to the Village and after a few hitches, we got in. I had never been there before and it was a really interesting place to walk through. All sorts of different rooms and what not. At times, it was like walking through a maze. All in all, it was a really fun night.
We slept in again this morning, and then Paul and I went into town to see Spiderman. I was quite happy with it. I mean superheroes and Andrew Garfield? I am a happy camper. :D We then decided to go shopping, and that was when we found the Batman onesie in Penneys.
So that leaves me at the apartment, chilling in my onesie. Life is pretty awesome right now.
No comments:
Post a Comment