Monday, July 23, 2012

"I'm a Barry Goldwater Republican"

Today wasn't too terribly eventful. It was roughly 70°F...heatwave, watch out. But actually, it did feel really friggn hot. Beyond that, today was nothing to special, but I did have a funny conversation that I thought it might be fun to share. 

After work, I stopped on O'Connell Bridge, to get an American flag bandanna from one of the vendors, so I would have some American swag to wear for the Olympics this weekend. This same guy is always on O'Connell Bridge, he's basically built into the Dublin landscape. So I stopped, expected to give him my  €5, grab my two bandanna's, and be on my merry way. 

However, for some reason, this guy, an American, as it turned out, decided to ask me if I supported Obama. I talked to him for a little bit, told him yes, and eventually, told him that I was a liberal. His response: "well, nobody's perfect." He then proceeded to explain to me that his entire family was a group of conservative Republicans. "Barry Goldwater, Ronald Reagan Republicans," he said. 

At that point, I did all I could not to laugh. I only had the mental image of Doc Wend exclaiming, "Barry Goldwater! In your heart, you know he's right. In your gut, you know he's nuts" immediately after he told us that Barry Goldwater wanted to put a nuke in the men's room in the Kremlin. This guy then proceeded to tell me how he voted for Obama in 2008, because he thought Sarah Palin was crazy. "Although, she would probably be a nice neighbor or something." And he's planning on voting for Obama again this year, because he hates Romney. Oh, and he hates George W. Bush pretty strongly as well. ("I'm sorry, but if I had the chance, I would shoot him dead."...He didn't really like the Iraq War.) Such colourful people here.

Other than that, I just watched The Newsroom for quite a while (and you should watch it too...so good!). I am still not caught up yet, but that will happen soon. It was actually quite a coincidental parallel, that I met a Republican criticizing the tea-party hijacked GOP the same day that I watched episode 3 of The Newsroom.

So that was my day. Nothing eventful, but hopefully an amusing story. 

No comments:

Post a Comment