I'll just leave this fun little diddy here.
So after being a little berated by my mother for not keeping this up, I figured it would probably be good to post something (or better yet, two things). So, now to bring you all up to speed. The football game on Thursday.
A bunch of my friends and I were planning on going to a pub to watch the game with Ingrid's Irish friend. However, four of us managed to get separated from the rest in the pouring rain on the way to d|two (a pub/night club just past St. Stephen's Green), so we just went our separate ways. We found Ingrid's friend after I was soaking wet and made our way through the massive crowd (it seemed like they shoved a third of Dublin into this place) in d|two's basement.
Then there was the game. Sad face. And now is where I throw in my whole spiel about how wonderful Irish fans are, which I will say with having knowledge of one game. Ireland got down early and there were very few times when they were even on the offensive, so the game was overall very depressing. However, the entire time, the whole bar stared at the screen intently cheering when Ireland even got close to going on the offensive and yelling "C'mon Ireland " or singing "c'mon you boys in green!" It was a really cool thing to experience, mostly because it would never happen in America.
In America, people leave in the middle of the game if their team is down or they start booing their own players. There are almost no events that unify the whole country (besides maybe the Olympics, but I think that is pushing it). I know, I know, we're a hell of a lot bigger country, but still, we could at least, be better sports towards our team when they lose.
And after the game instead of bitching like Americans do, they just said "feck it" and drank more beer. They knew that they had no chance; Spain is the best team in the world. It's just such a more laid back attitude, and I like it.
So that's my spiel. Ireland's just kind of winning right now in my book, the strawberries, the sport fans. I really don't know what more I need.
No comments:
Post a Comment